Assigning/ editing user permissions

If any of the users that you have added are teachers, librarians, or administrators, you will need to assign permissions to those users to give them access to the sections of Engage that they need. Only Administrators have the ability to assign and edit user permissions.

Students do not have permission to make changes to your school's Engage platform. They only have access to the Library section, and the ability to check out, return, request and wait list library books. All user types have access to the Library section to use the library collection.

There are three types of permissions:

  1. Teachers have access to the Teacher section (including Prescribed, Store, Resources and Groups).
  2. Librarians have access to the Librarian section (including Library Admin, Owned, Loaned, Wait List, Requests and Blocked) and 'Settings' under the Admin section to set the Loan Duration, Maximum Checkouts and Purchasing Type.
  3. Administrators have access to the Admin section (including all tools for user administration and settings for Engage), the Teacher Section (to manage groups and resources) and the Librarian section (to manage prescribed lists and the store).

How to assign permissions

  1. Navigate to 'Users' when logged in to Engage.
  2. Select the relevant user. You can use the search bar to locate the user in question, and then tick the selector box for that user to make the selection.
  3. Click on the ‘Assign Permission’ button. Select the type of permission you wish to assign to the user from the list in the permissions pop-up. You can assign more than one permission type to the same user.
  4. Click on ‘Save’ to confirm your selection.

How to edit your user permissions

To edit a user’s access and permissions status:

  1. Navigate to 'Users' when logged in to Engage.
  2. Click on the user’s username.
  3. Click on ‘Add/Remove’ (under ‘Roles’ to the right of the user’s profile).
  4. Select the type of permission you wish to add/remove from the list in the permissions pop-up.
  5. Click on ‘Save’ to confirm your selection.